Story Time: Nancy Tillman

Story Time is a new feature at The Hiding Spot in which I share some of my favorite new, old, or overlooked picture books.

This week I’ll be showcasing one of my favorite author/illustrators, Nancy Tillman!

Not a parent, teacher, or librarian? Picture books make fantastic gifts, from baby showers to birthdays and holidays. As bookworms, we all know how important books are – be the one who hands that special kid in your life the book who will make them fall in love with the magic of reading!

_______________________________

Every time someone comes into my bookstore looking for a baby shower gift or simply browsing for a great book to add to their child’s personal library, I mention Nancy Tillman’s books. Not only are they available in full-size hardcover and, often, as board books, they are all absolutely gorgeous. All of Tillman’s books feature heartfelt text that celebrate wonder and love and are paired with her signature illustrations. On more than one occasion I’ve been so moved by Tillman’s illustrations that I’ve teared up… It’s likely that adults will treasure these books even more than the little ones in their lives. Below I’ve highlighted a few of my personal favorites! Click on each image for more information and to add to Goodreads. (It should be noted that some of the books I’ve listed are not actually written by Nancy Tillman, only illustrated.)

I’d Know You Anywhere, My Love 

Written & illus. by Tillman – Hardcover only

There are things about you qI'd know you anywhereuite unlike any other.
Things always known by your father or mother.
So if you dec
ide to be different one day,
no worries… I’d know you anyway.

Every child is special and unique, but every child also loves to dream of being something different. Bestselling author and artist Nancy Tillman has created another heartfelt masterpiece celebrating the joys of imagination, and the comfort of always knowing that “you are loved.”

On the Night You Were Born

Written & illus. by Nancy Tillman – Hardcover & Board

on the night you were bornOn the night you were born,
the moon smiled with such wonder
that the stars peeked in to see you
and the night wind whispered.
“Life will never be the same.”

On the night you were born you brought wonder and magic to the world. Here is a book that celebrates you. It is meant to be carried wherever life takes you, over all the roads, through all the years.

Let There Be Light

Written by Archbishop Desmond Tutu, illus. by Nancy Tillman – Hardcover only

Let there be lightIn the very beginning, God’s love bubbled over when there was nothing else—no trees, no birds, no animals, no sky, no sea—only darkness.

Let There Be Light combines the love and warmth of Nobel Peace Prize Winner Archbishop Desmond Tutu with the extraordinary talents of bestselling author and illustrator Nancy Tillman. This retelling of the biblical story of creation vividly portrays the wonder and beauty of God’s creation on each of the seven days. Using Archbishop Tutu’s lyrical text from the Children of God Storybook Bible and Tillman’s remarkable illustrations, Let There Be Light brings the story of creation to life for readers young and old.

Wherever You Are, My Love Will Find You

Written and illus. by Nancy Tillman – Hardcover and Board

whereever you are, my love will find you. . . I wanted you more than you’ll ever know,
so I sent love to follow wherever you go. . . .

Love is the greatest gift we have to give our children. It’s the one thing they can carry with them each and every day.

If love could take shape it might look something like these heartfelt words and images from the inimitable Nancy Tillman. Here is a book to share with your loved ones, no matter how near or far, young or old, they are.

It’s Time to Sleep, My Love

Written by Eric Metaxas, illus. by Nancy Tillman

it's time to sleep my loveIt’s time to sleep, it’s time to sleep,
the fishes croon in waters deep.
The songbirds sing in trees above,
“It’s time to sleep, my love, my love.”

As children prepare for bed, the world around them is also settling down for the night. Animals who live in the jungle, the forest, the sea—all whisper to their babies a soft refrain: It’s time to sleep, my love.

___________________________

Admittedly, I’m not a very religious person, but I adore Nancy Tillman’s collaboration with Archbishop Desmond Tutu. Check out the Youtube video below, which features Tutu reading Let There Be Light and Tillman’s illustrations.

Do you love Nancy Tillman’s work as much as I do? Which of her books is your personal favorite?

3 thoughts on “Story Time: Nancy Tillman

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up & Stacking the Shelves (3) | The Hiding Spot

Comments always welcome, but be sure to whisper, I'm hiding!

