Weekly Wrap Up (1/5/14-1/11/14)

Weekly Wrap Up is a summary of the current week’s blog posts, features some of the books I received for review this week (usually those I’m most excited about!), and offers a look at what you’ll find on the blog next week!

This Week at The Hiding Spot

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan (Review)

The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson (Review)

Story Time: Essential New Picture Books (Feature)

The Cellar by Natasha Preston (Cover Reveal)

F&F Friday: 2014 Blogger Resolutions (Blog Hop)

Next Week

Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher (Review)

Vitro by Jessica Khoury (Review)

The Killing Woods by Lucy Christopher (Review & Giveaway)

Story Time: Wintry Reads (Feature)

F&F Friday: Blogger BFFs

New for Review

A few highlights from this week…

Landline by Rainbow Rowell – St. Martin’s Press – 7/8/2014

I have to admit, I might hlandlineave jumped for joy when I saw this one! I only waited a couple days before reading it… and, let me tell you, Rowell doesn’t disappoint! Check out an excerpt from my review below:

Can love, battered and bruised, ever be enough? Charming, magical, and thoroughly relatable, LANDLINE is another must-read from author Rainbow Rowell. Technically adult fiction, teen readers will still identify with Georgie’s struggles with her relationship and the power of love, particularly during her flashbacks to the tender but tumultuous early days of her relationship with Neal. There is an honesty inherent to Rowell’s writing, LANDLINE included, that will satisfy fans and surely win her many more.

Full review here.

Trust Me, I’m Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer – Delacorte – October 2014

A teen con artist trackintrust me i'm lyingg down her missing father with two good lucky guys? Yeah, definitely one I’m not going to miss… and apparently one I couldn’t hold off on reading. Check out an excerpt from my review below:

I immediately liked Julep. She’s got a no-nonsense attitude when it comes to work, obviously important in her line of less-than-legal work, but she’s also got a great sense of humor and a brain that works a mile a minute… probably from all the coffee she’s constantly guzzling. I couldn’t help but imagine Julep as a cross between Veronica Mars and Charlize Theron’s character, Stella, from The Italian Job.

Full review here.

Very Bad Things by Susan McBride Delacorte – October 2014

very bad thingsA boarding school, a cheating boyfriend, and a missing – make that dead – girl.

I’m a huge fan of boarding school books, so McBride’s newest is a must read for me. I’m curious to see what the cover art will look like… hopefully it’ll be released soon!

Tell me about you week! Any new and notable titles added to your to-read list? Write a review you’re particularly proud of? Interview a fantastic author? Leave me a link in the comments and I’ll check it out!

2 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up (1/5/14-1/11/14)

Comments always welcome, but be sure to whisper, I'm hiding!

