Review: Prada and Prejudice by Mandy Hubbard


Title: Prada and Prejudice
Author: Mandy Hubbard
Publisher: Razorbill
Pub. Date: 2009
Genre: YA
Main themes: Time travel, Love, Rank/Popularity, Friendship, Self Esteem
Pages: 238
Plot (from back cover):

“Callie is tired of being a clumsy geek-girl. So during a school trip to London she buys her ticket to popularity: a pair of REAL Prada pumps. But then she wobbles on the cobblestones, trips on her too-high heels, and conks her head. When she comes to, it’s the year 1815!
Luckily she meets kindhearted Emily, who mistakes Callie for a long-lost friend. Sparks soon ignite – of the nice and not-so-nice variety – between Callie and Alex, the handsome but totally arrogant Duke of Harksbury. Too bad Alex seems to have something sinister up his ruffled sleeve…
Can Callie save Emily from a dire engagement, win a kiss from Alex and prove to herself that she’s more than just a loud-mouth klutz before her time in the past is up?”

Prada and Prejudice was cute and quick read that blends romance, time travel, and a wonderful coming of age story!

Callie was a good main character, it was easy to relate to her insecurities and rejoice at her growth and newfound confidence as the story progressed. :

Alex was a perfectly written – Pride and Prejudice’s Darcy is the model for all of my favorite character crushes and Alex definitely fit that mold!

I liked Prada and Prejudice, but there were some aspects that disappointed me, like the ending. I felt like the book ended abruptly and unsatifactorily. There was a character, that I won’t name because of spoilers and all that, who was promptly forgotten about after being a main focus of the book up to that point. It was so frustrating to me! 😦 I like that it was a cute and quick read, but I felt like it was missing some substance. I can’t really say for sure what – perhaps I just felt like Callie was a bit too cookie cutter…

Ratings (out of 10):
Plot: 9
Characters: 8
Writing style: 10
Romance: 8
Originality: 10
Total: 45/50 (A-)

I thought that this book was definitely worth reading, but it wasn’t really a rush to the top of your TBR pile read. I recommend checking it out from the library and reading it before you decide to buy it…

4 thoughts on “Review: Prada and Prejudice by Mandy Hubbard

  1. I just bought a few copies of this for my library's collection and they've never actually seen the shelves! =) Great review, apparently the teen readers are digging this book too.

Comments always welcome, but be sure to whisper, I'm hiding!

